WhatsApp extends ‘Delete for everyone’ duration to over 1 hour in its latest beta update

0
394
WhatsApp extends 'Delete for everyone' duration to over 1 hour in its latest beta

WhatsApp seems to have finally heard its users out and will soon update its ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature to let users delete sent messages within a longer duration of time. The update is still being tested on beta and should be available in the stable versions soon.

Now, according to a report by WABetaInfo, WhatsApp beta version 2.18.69 allows users to delete messages within 4096 seconds or 68 minutes and 16 seconds of the message being sent. while the increased number does sound a little random, it is a vast improvement as compared to 420 seconds or seven minutes deadline earlier.

WhatsApp had rolled out its most anticipated feature, ‘Delete for Everyone’, in 2017 that allowed its over one billion users to revoke their messages in a private or group conversation.

WhatsApp had been working on this feature for almost a year.

“Deleting messages for everyone allows the user to delete specific messages that they have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if the user sends a message to the wrong chat or if the message sent contains a mistake,” WhatsApp noted.

Messages that the user successfully deletes for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in the recipients’ chats.

Similarly, if a person happens to see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.

LEAVE A REPLY