After the big controversy of Facebook and Cambridge Analytica, You might be worried or think that how to find if Cambridge Analytica using your Facebook data. Mark Zuckerberg is testifying before Congress tomorrow, but before that kicks off, Facebook will finally be notifying users who had their data stolen by Cambridge Analytica.
From April 9, Facebook will show users a link at the top of their News Feed so they can see what apps they use — and the information they have shared with those apps,” Facebook wrote in a press release. “People will also be able to delete apps that they no longer want. As part of this process, we will also tell people if their information may have been improperly shared with Cambridge Analytica.”
Check if Cambridge Analytica Using Your Facebook Data:
Facebook with 2.2 billion users worldwide, most people will get the notification on the left.
If your data was stolen by Cambridge Analytica, you’ll get an alert saying that We have banned the website ‘This Is Your Digital Life,’ which one of your friends used Facebook to log into. You can understand more about what happened and how you can delete other apps and websites any time if you no longer want them to have access to your Facebook information.
If you weren’t affected by the data breach, you will get a direct link to Facebook’s Apps and Websites privacy settings, where you can see which apps have access to your data, as well as the option to remove them.
Once you have given an app access to your information, even if you delete it, the app might still retain your information. Moving forward, your best bet is to avoid logging into apps using Facebook. Just create a username and login and call it a day.